top of page

First Vislab tours and Unity3D tutorials

I spend most of this week watching Unity tutorials and playing around with the software. I was hoping I watch more tutorials than I have so far, but considering that they were a couple of events that I had to attend as well and the fact that we had to do our abstract and research plan for this Friday, I think I made some decent progress.

The vislab gave tours to two groups of high school students. Our Mentors and Rosalia Gómez (manager of the ICERT program) wanted us to shadow the other researchers giving the tour so we could learn how to do it so we could give tours ourselves in the future. It was very inspiring to see all these younger students show interest in the vis technology and be intrigued when we showed them demos. I actually had fun.

We also had a talk on Monday on How to in a Poster Session with Ben Corona. He mostly talk to us on the process on how to make a poster and all the sessions it should have. I thought it was an ok presentation, I wished he had made the presentation more interactive with us. I also thought the poster he was presenting had too many bullets and the images had no captions, which I found odd.

On Wednesday, me, Marvis, James, Fatima, Joshua, Keith and Zee went to SRS Welcome Reception to meet students that are also doing an internship in UT. I gotta say, the food that was really good! Especially because I was so hungry. And since the reception was in the main building (where UT clock tower is), the room was super fancy. Oh, and we met new students there, of course.

In other news, I found how hot Texas can be in the middle of the day. Sort of felt like I teleported back to Puerto Rico with no palm trees and a squirrels infestation (also the main characters in my Snapchat story).

Challenge of the week: Definitely doing the abstract and the research plan. I was a little concern because I didn't knew where to start. Also, me and Marvis hit a minor speedbump while making the research plan. I'm usually a slow writer when it comes to writing, especially with research papers. By the heavens, Marvis is definitely not! She made half of the research plan in like an hour. So I didn't want to felt like she was doing all of the work, so I tried to do some parts myself, but got a little annoyed when she edited them.

How I overcame the challenge: Looking at it, this little drama seems pretty highschooley. We were able to resolve it pretty quickly by talking out, and I finished the parts of the research paper that were missing. When we reviewed it and edit it, we send it to our mentors for some feedback. Then, today Andrew told us it looked very good and he was impressed! Major confidence boost right there! I'm actually glad that Marvis has more experience doing research papers and is able to write its parts pretty quickly, because it would had probably taken me about two days to make the whole thing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page